Blogwell Recap


I’ve returned from GasPedal’s Blogwell How Big Companies do Social Media conference and feel satisfied. Energized, right? That’s what you thought I‘d say? Well satisfied is more like it. After listening to some great cases studies by some outstanding companies, I realized the strategy that we are executing against isn’t off the mark. Validation seems like an odd word to use. So, I’ll use satisfied.

I started my trip off by reading ValleyWag’s Paul Bouton column in the latest Wired urging readers to Kill Your Blog. The death of blogs? Not a new concept. Nor is the death of the A-List bloggers. How could I be reading this right before Blogwell. I need to have aspiration running through my veins. I needed lofty goals and dare I say game-changing thinking.

It wasn’t long after the first couple of minutes into the first presentation by Cisco entitled, Why Vlogging is better than Blogging, that I realized Bouton wasn’t the only one who could see this trend.

I then sat in on The Home Depot’s Nick Ayers talk about the social media evolution taking place at the Orange Apron do-it-yourself retailer. He spoke about the company’s use of Twitter during the recent hurricane season and how that activity really resonated with consumers on Twitter. The Home Depot’s social media experience went from responding to a web comment board that followed an unsavory article to using Twitter and skipped the whole blog step. Nick stated that the strategy to use Twitter wasn’t a huge revolution, rather just re-posting information that was already on the corporate home page.

As I’m writing this on my blog (maybe it’s on its deathbed) I have to agree with Bouton’s thoughts that social networks and Twitter, FriendFeed, etc., are growing in popularity because of brevity. The immediate train of thought you can gleam from following some of the web’s thought leaders is more valuable that reading the scribble they worked on while staying up late or a prideful pontification that really only half-makes sense.

Not many companies at Blogwell were talking about their blogs, but rather their communities, their use of engaging community via YouTube or Twitter.

The blog isn’t really dead. Maybe it’s just been removed from the social media pedestal and a little bluebird has taken its place—for now.

Quick Thoughts About Blogwell:

  • For a social media conference, a lot of folks had their faces buried in their laptops (including me) and weren’t being too social
  • Managing content distribution is the next frontier in social media
  • Inviting a member of your legal team to join at these conferences up-levels the social media conversation you have with a key member of the team
  • UPS has the same challenge weeding out all the random mentions of their brand in the blogosphere as FedEx does
  • Blogwell may need another name by next year to better relate to the case study presentations – SocialMediaWell?
  • Lots of talk about social media not much on Reputation management-Nick Ayers touched on it, but for larger companies I was surprised I didn’t hear more about how these activities were being measured against reputation

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Blogwell Recap

  1. Lynne

    Great post! Thinking these days about how to communicate such things as ‘how damn hard it is to do business in a country that is, for the most part, operating 100s of years in the past!

Leave a comment